For questions or to order by phone call +44 (0) 1527 598388

Woods, Spieth win PGA Awards

He didn't win a Major and he fizzled at the end of the FedEx Cup Playoffs, but Tiger Woods is still the business.

Over the weekend, Woods was named 2013 PGA Tour Player of the Year, the 11th time he's won the award that began in 1990.

No other player has ever won it more than twice.

Woods played 16 tournaments in 2013. He won five of them and finished int he Top 10 eight times. He also finished second in the FedEx Cup Playoffs. He averaged a 69.9 per round and won $8.55 million in prize money

It's his first time to win the award since 2009. Woods took most of 2011 off to deal with personal problems that ultimately led to his divorce.

In 2013, he won the Arnold Palmer Invitational, the Farmers Insurance Open, the Players Championship, the Cadillac Championship and the Bridgestone Invitational. He also finished fourth as The Masters and sixth at the British Open.

He beat out fellow finalists Henrik Stenson, Phil Mickelson, Matt Kuchar and Adam Scott.

Notables on the other finalists include:

-  Kuchar: two wins, eight Top 10 finishes, $5.62 million in earnings; 6th in FedExCup points.

- Stenson: FedEx Cup champion, 2 wins, 8 Top 10 finshes, $16.4 million in earnings.

-  Mickelson: British Open champion; 2 wins; 7 Top 10 finishes; $5.45 million in earnings.

- Scott: The Masters champion; 2 wins, 6 Top 10 finishes, $4.89 million in earnings.

Jordan Spieth was the easy winner of 2013 PGA Tour Rookie of the Year, going from ranked 810th to start the year to seventh in the final FedEx Cup standings. Spieth had one win and 9 Top 10 appearances in 23 events. He turned 20 during the season. Past Rookie of the Years of note included Brandt Snedeker and Rickie Fowler.

Spieth is the first golfer since Tiger Woods in 1996 to go from having no PGA Tour status to start the year to playing in the Tour Championship at year's end.

Back to news list

© 2016 Golf Outlets of America All Rights Reserved.