For questions or to order by phone call +44 (0) 1527 598388

Ryder cup stars snub Seve Trophy tournament

In a marked contrast to the elation and disappointment that marked the squad announcements regarding the United States team for the upcoming President's Cup, across the pond it's equivalent continental contest has proved to be far less attractive.

Eight of the victorious Ryder Cup have have pulled out of next week's Seve Trophy in France.

Rory McIlroy, Luke Donald, Graeme McDowell, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose and Lee Westwood have all declined to be a part of the Great Britain & Ireland side, and neither will Sweden's Peter Hansen nor Spaniard Sergio Garcia swell the ranks of their opposition, the Continental Europe Team.

Paul Lawrie, however, will tee off in the Gallic surrounds, and is not backward in coming forward about his feelings about the absentees.

"I don't quite understand it and it's extremely disappointing," said Lawrie. "It's disappointing for ... the (European) Tour, who have done a great job putting it on, and for Seve and his family," adding "Most of us are out there playing because of what Seve did years ago."

"I would walk to Paris to play and I would have done whatever it took to be in that team next week.

"With Seve's name attached to it and the idea behind the tournament, it's kind of the equivalent of the Presidents Cup  for the American boys."

GB and Ireland: Sam Torrance (Scotland, capt), Paul Casey (England), Jamie Donaldson (Wales), Tommy Fleetwood (England), Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), Scott Jamieson (Scotland), Simon Khan (England), Paul Lawrie (Scotland), David Lynn (England), Marc Warren (Scotland), Chris Wood (England).

Europe: Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain, captain), Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Gregory Bourdy (France), Nicolas Colsaerts (Belgium), Peter Hanson (Sweden), Mikko Ilonen (Finland), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain), Joost Luiten (Holland), Matteo Manassero (Italy), Francesco Molinari (Italy), Thorbjorn Olesen (Holland).

Back to news list

© 2016 Golf Outlets of America All Rights Reserved.