For questions or to order by phone call +44 (0) 1527 598388

Eight Automatic Ryder Cup Spots now known

Following the conclusion of this weekend’s last Major of the season: the 92nd PGA Championship at Whistling Straits, the eight automatic places for the US Ryder Cup team are now known.

Masters Champion, Phil Mickeslson and Hunter Mahan will lead the 2010 team under Captain Corey pavin. The eight automatics are

1. Phil Mickelson
2. Hunter Mahan
3. Bubba Watson
4. Jim Furyk
5. Steve Stricker
6. Dustin Johnson
7. Jeff Overton
8. Matt Kuchar

Out of the eight, only Mickelson and Mahan were guaranteed a place before this weekend’s championship, the rest of the spots were all up for grabs.

Only Watson and Dustin Johnson were out of the top eight before the PGA Championship. Watson moved from 18th place with his second place finish and Dustin Johnson moved form no 9 to number 6 spot.

The world’s number one Tiger Woods has failed to qualify for an automatic place after finishing tied for 28th place, and needs to be one of the Captains wildcard picks if he is to play in the Ryder Cup in October
He said: "I'd like to make the team but didn't manage it on points so I'll have to rely on Corey. It's whether he wants me.My game is heading in the right direction, so I feel I could help the team. Hopefully, Corey will see that."

The US Captain will announce his four Captains’ picks on September 7th.

Back to news list

© 2016 Golf Outlets of America All Rights Reserved.